Remote Learning Counseling Supports

March 17, 2020

Dear ConVal Families,

The ConVal District School Counseling Team is working collaboratively to support students with their academic, social/emotional, and career planning needs through a virtual environment. We will continue to communicate and adapt to this changing environment and provide guidance and support to you and your students as best we can.

  • Counselors will be available during regular school hours to address day-to-day issues. Families and students may contact their school counselor via email and Google Hangouts. 
  • Counselors will continue to monitor student academic progress and reach out to struggling students at all levels. 
  • Counselors will continue to provide additional support to students in conjunction with families via email and electronic means. 
  • Counselors will continue to support students who receive accommodations through Section 504 Plans and will regularly check in with those students, teachers, and families. 
  • High school and middle school counselors will continue the registration process for grades 8-11. Students will select courses for the 20-21 school year using the PowerSchool portal with support and guidance from their school counselor.  The deadline for this process remains April 10. 
  • High school counselors will support members of the Class of 2020 as they approach graduation, apply for scholarships, and finalize post-secondary plans. 
  • Counselors will communicate with teachers, case managers, nurses, and related services providers on a regular basis to support students.

As the situation evolves, the school counselors will share resources that may be helpful to families as we all deal with stress and anxiety around Covid-19 and social distancing. Here is one resource around Caring For You and Your Family’s Stress and one about how to Talk to your Student about Coronavirus

Please do not hesitate to reach out to your student’s school counselor at any time with questions or concerns. As always, we will continue with our mission of providing  all students with a comprehensive school counseling program that encourages the highest level of student achievement through growth in academic, career, and personal/social domains.  

NameEmailSchoolTitle
Jennifer Ahlquist, M.Ed.jahlquist@conval.eduPeterborough Elementary School
Todd Bennett, MStbennett@conval.eduConVal Regional High SchoolStudent Support Counselor
Kim Varney Chandler, MAkchandler@conval.eduConVal Regional High SchoolDirector
Rebecca Dunn, M.Ed.rdunn@conval.eduConVal Regional High School
Jill Evelyn, M.Ed.jevelyn@conval.eduConVal Regional High SchoolStudent Support Counselor
JoAnn Fletcher, MAjfletcher@conval.eduConVal Regional High School
Laura Gourlay, M.Ed.lgourlay@conval.eduGreat Brook School
Robin Gregg, MSW, Ph.D.rgregg@conval.eduAntrim and Pierce Elementary Schools
Dan Record, M.S.drecord@conval.eduConVal Regional High School
Stephanie Smart, M.Ed.ssmart@conval.eduSouth Meadow School
Jennifer Swasey, MSjswasey@conval.eduFrancestown, Hancock, and Greenfield Elementary Schools
Judith Winters, M.Ed.jwinters@conval.edu"South Meadow Middle School
Temple and Dublin Elementary Schools

High School Counselor Assignments

Grade 9 (Class of 2023)Grade 10 (Class of 2022)Grade 11 (Class of 2021)Grade 12 (Class of 2020)
A-EDunnA-DDunnA-EDunnA-BeChandler
F-NRecordE-McRecordF-MaRecordBl – EDunn
O-ZFletcherMe-VFletcherMc-WhFletcherF- McRecord
W-ZChandlerWi-ZChandlerN - WhFletcher
Wi-ZChandler