School Counseling

In order to improve student success at all levels, the ConVal K-12 School Counseling team provides a cohesive and comprehensive school counseling program that is representative of the National Model of the American School Counselor Association (ASCA). The ASCA National Model seeks to ensure that students experience success as learners and that graduates from the ConVal school leave the district ready for college or career.

In district elementary schools, comprehensive developmental school counseling programs provide education, prevention and intervention services, which are integrated into all aspects of children’s lives. Early identification and intervention of children’s academic and personal/social needs are essential in removing barriers to learning and in promoting academic achievement.

Middle school counselors work with students to explore a variety of interests, connect their learning in the classroom to its practical application in life and work, and find their own unique identity as they begin turning more frequently to peers rather than parents for ideas and information.

High school counselors assist students as they face pressures regarding risk behaviors involving sex, alcohol, and drugs while negotiating more mature, meaningful relationships. Students also experience academic pressures as they face high-stakes testing and as they navigate the challenges of college admissions and entrance into a competitive job market. In short, high school counselors assist students with their successful transition from school to post-secondary life.

All ConVal school counselors maintain certifications and participate in required professional development to stay current. The counselors’ effectiveness and knowledge are also supplemented by membership in professional associations.

Jennifer Ahlquist, M.Ed.
School Counselor
Peterborough Elementary School
jahlquist@conval.edu
Todd Bennett, MS
School Counselor
ConVal Regional High School
tbennett@conval.edu
Kim Chandler, MA
Director of School Counseling
ConVal Regional High School
kchandler@conval.edu
Rebecca Dunn, M.Ed.
School Counselor
ConVal Regional High School
rdunn@conval.edu
JoAna Fletcher, MA
School Counselor
ConVal Regional High School
jfletcher@conval.edu
Laura Gourlay, M.Ed.
School Counselor
Great Brook School
lgourlay@conval.edu
Robin Gregg, MSW, Ph.D.
School Counselor
Antrim and Pierce Elementary Schools
rgregg@conval.edu
Dan Record, MS
School Counselor
ConVal Regional High School
drecord@conval.edu
Stephanie Smart, M.Ed.
School Counselor
South Meadow School
ssmart@conval.edu
Jennifer Swasey, MS
School Counselor
Francestown, Hancock, and Greenfield Elementary Schools
jswasey@conval.edu
Judith Winters, M.Ed
School Counselor
South Meadow Middle School
Dublin Consolidated and Temple Elemntary Schools
jwinters@conval.edu

Among the many different services provided by this team of school counselors are the following:

  • Goal setting
  • Course selection
  • 504 plans
  • Career planning
  • College application process
  • Individual counseling
  • Group counseling
  • Delivery of guidance lessons
  • Crisis response
  • Referrals to outside counseling and for safety assessments
  • Referrals to Division of Child Youth and Families (DCYF)
  • Youth Mental Health First Aid (YMHFA) training

For more details on the services provided by school counseling, please see the 2019 ConVal District School Counseling Framework.