Featured image of article: Dr. Rizzo Saunders Named  National Superintendent of the Year Finalist

Dr. Rizzo Saunders Named National Superintendent of the Year Finalist

The ConVal School District and School Board proudly announce that Superintendent Dr. Kimberly Rizzo Saunders has been named a finalist for the National Superintendent of the Year Award. Dr. Rizzo Saunders was one of four nominees announced by the School Superintendents Association (AASA) on Monday, December 18, 2023.

“I am deeply honored to be recognized by AASA,” Dr. Rizzo Saunders said. “The work our District does every day could not be successful without a supportive School Board, a caring and compassionate community, and colleagues and peers who have dedicated themselves to excellence every day. Our children are afforded every chance to succeed in school and life because of these supports.”

The other three finalists for this national honor are:

  • Joe Gothard, Saint Paul Public Schools, St. Paul, MN
  • Martha Salazar-Zamora, Tomball Independent School District, Tomball, TX
  • Frederick Williams, Dublin City Schools, Dublin, GA

The National Superintendent of the Year® program, now in its 37th year, is open to all U.S. superintendents who plan to continue in the profession. The Superintendent of the Year award is co-sponsored by AASA, Corebridge Financial, and First Student. The winner will be announced during AASA’s National Conference on Education on February 15, 2024, in San Diego, CA.